When a service request is submitted, it is routed to the help desk group. Users who are in the help desk group can view it in their group inbox and route it to themselves by claiming. After claiming they can route it to another user or group.
Managers can route themselves any request which is assigned to a user. Please see Routing Rules.
Below is a service request automatically routed to the help desk group. Tom Sky is in the help desk group and request is listed in the Requests routed to my group view. The user can view the request (Action 1) and Claim the request (Action 2). Claiming the request will route it to Tom Sky.
When you claim the service request, you will be the current owner. The History Log will be updated by the claim action.
You can resolve the service request, or route it to another user or group.
You can change the priority and impact. The changes will be completed only if you resolve or route it to yourself or another user/role.
When you route the request to another user, the actions will be kept track at the History Log section.
When the owner of the request has changed two email notification will be sent out:
1. To the user who submitted the request.
2. To the current owner.
Here is the request for the new owner.
You can close the request after resolving it. To close it enter Resolution and click on Resolve button.
The status of the request is set to Closed.
When the service request is closed, an email notification will be sent out to the user who submitted.